Quick Thoughts – Ublado’s CG

So I was driving home during game one of the series against Tampa. With the spotty reception in rural Ontario, the game kept going in and out. First inning and I’m cursing in the car. Yesterday it was Miley, today it’s Ubaldo. Man that piece on Gausman to the Rescue really was right about only 3/5’s of the rotation being useful. But as I drove Ublado settled down much like the dog in the back of the car. Top of 3 and Kim gets to third, Jones on First. Reception gone. Waiting. Waiting. Waiting. Commercial break. I’m thinking that Pedro or Manny was able to get the sac fly at the very least. Well we all know how it turned out. I get reception back to hear Ubaldo go 1, 2,  3 in the 4th. I’m seeing a repeat of yesterday against the Yanks. Just can’t get the runs to come. Battling with the reception as we approach home I think of turning the game off and waiting it out. I’m glad I didn’t. The Orioles (outside of Davis’ home run to start things off got some people on base, and were finally able to cash in with the old RISP.

I’d be lying if I said that I thought Ubaldo would “save the season”, but in a weekend that was dominated by the rotation (outside of Miley, who wasn’t terrible outside of the first inning). I don’t wan to get my hopes up, but if Ubaldo can steady himself as an actual #4 starter in the rotation the Birds will have a shot to push Boston and Toronto to claim the division. Still 7 against Boston, so the fate of the season is very much in the hands of the Birds.

Two more left here, with Bundy on the mound Wednesday. It’s not inconceivable to get all 3, heading in to Detroit with Gausman and Tillman ready to go, and maybe O’Day back in the pen. The situation sets the Orioles up with a chance to put some distance between themselves and the Tigers while gaining or leaping over the Red Sox or Jays.

One thought on “Quick Thoughts – Ublado’s CG

Leave a Reply

